Intercollegiate Horse Show Association

Points System

A rider in the Intermediate, Novice, Walk-Trot-Cantor, and Walk-Trot categories needs 35 points in order to qualify for Regionals. A rider in an Open division needs 28 points to qualify.  A rider earns points by placing in the top 5 in their event at an IHSA show.

Points Earned:
First = 7 points
Second = 5 points
Third = 4 points
Fourth = 2 points
Fifth = 1 point
Once a rider qualifies for Regionals, they move up into the next division. At Regionals, they compete in the division that they “pointed out” of.  In order to move on to Zones, a rider must place first or second in their event. At Zones, the rider competes in the division they pointed out of and must place first or second to move on to Nationals.

For more information regarding the IHSA Point System and Divisions, click here!



horse saddle stock